top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Achievement Cell

Search for Sanity

Updated: Apr 17, 2020

The evening of 24th March ‘20 left most of us feeling overwhelmed. It took everything in me to register the fact that I won’t be able to cross the threshold of my house for another 21 days. Having been confined within this place for last 2 weeks, I was already counting down my days of being quarantined. Comfort has never felt more alarming to me. With each passing hour, as I periodically wash my hands for exact 20 seconds, I feel like I am losing a tiny bit of my sanity. Lately, I have been following the news very religiously. It feels like we never switch the T.V off, my entire family gathers in the same room as they glue their eyes to the screen depicting the rise in the number of cases tested positive for the deadly, corona virus, I think that staying together gives them a sense of security. Even the tiniest increase in the numbers creates a mild discomfort within the room, my mother and aunt, already engulfed with paranoia, routinely discuss how our country is underprepared to tackle this pandemic and conclude with various precautions that we as a family can take. To be honest, their discussions have an undertone of racism and xenophobia which they would neither address nor accept openly.


I spend most of my time in the same room, scrolling through social media, waiting for calls from loved ones. I have watched a number of movies, read all the books that I had, played video games and board games for hours and now the idleness is driving me crazy. I have always dreamed about a time where I wouldn’t have much to do, where I’d be able to just lie on my bed and binge watch some cheesy romantic web series, so then why am I resenting this solitude now?


Having read multiple articles about the importance of social distancing, I understand how every infected person can spread COVID19 among infinite people. There are enough articles on internet, aiming to spread awareness about the gravity of the current situation, but barely addressing the thoughts going on in every twenty something’s head. How exactly do we retain our calm amidst all this chaos?


In a situation where the conversation in every house reeks of panic, where there is a suppressed hint of cluelessness in every parent’s assurance, it is very likely to break down. However, the constant increase in the number of deaths might arise a sense of motivation. The battle isn’t merely against COVID 19, but against every thought that arises in our head only to break us down. As each one of us battles our own demons, driving us to lose our calm, collectively we win the fight against corona virus, sickening people and causing deaths. It is in such times; that every little change can act trigger your mind forcing you to do something which you might regret later. Hence, it is necessary for every person to take care of their mental health and to remind themselves about the transitory nature of this crisis. As far as the coping mechanisms are concerned, every individual develops their own. What might come as an escape to me doesn’t necessarily have to make another person feel better; every lost traveler finds their own way.

- Anushka Sharma

The opinions expressed in this publication are those of the author. They do not purport to reflect the opinions or views of the Achievement Cell or its members.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page