top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Achievement Cell

Ashok Aggarwal|BSC(H)Statistics|Ramanujan College|Batch of 2024

Question 1: Can you briefly describe yourself?

Answer 1: I am from a small town in Haryana named Kaithal. However, I have been living in Delhi for the past 21 years. I completed secondary school at Universal Public School, Preet Vihar, and am currently pursuing a Bachelor of Science Honours in Statistics from Ramanujan College. Talking about internships, I was a Research Intern at a US-based company named Incisiv,  worked at Wakao Foods, and currently a Research and Analytics Intern at Invest India.


Question 2: What motivated you to participate in numerous Data Analytics sort of competitions?

Answer 2: This was not driven by any such motive. Nevertheless, when I first joined LinkedIn, I believed it was a place where people recognized and valued the work that everyone did and the same was my case. For example, when I posted about winning my first competition at the Department of Economics, I received much positive feedback and saw the rise in "Valuable" connections and conversation after the win. This encouraged me to participate in more competitions of this kind. I therefore got my motivation from this.


Question 3: How did you get an opportunity to be invited as a guest speaker at prestigious universities?

Answer 3: I used to host free sessions on how to optimise LinkedIn profiles, which was a breakthrough for me because I created close relationships with first-year students and other juniors. As a result, I have a community of more than 15000 people on LinkedIn that has steadily grown over time. In addition, they began to view me as a very helpful senior. After receiving invaluable insights from my sessions, a few of the juniors invited me to share the same knowledge at their institutions.


Question 4: Being a guest speaker at various institutions implies having a strong hold on public speaking. So, are you completely extroverted or do you’ve certain strategies for communicating effectively?

Answer 4: In school, I used to always take myself for granted. There was also a time when one of my teachers assigned another student to recite a poem I had to speak; she did so, and when I did so on stage, I received a lot of praise for my tones and expressions. It was at that very moment that I realised how many times I had been resistant to not competing and had missed a lot of opportunities. And it was at that moment that I made an absolute promise to myself that in college I would participate in competitions and take the necessary credits.


Question 5: How can strong interpersonal skills contribute to success? How will it impact our future?

Answer 5: I was captivated by the VCIS internship from the beginning and wanted to take it up. Despite my confidence in having a strong profile compared to all the others present with me in GD, I stammered while speaking during the group discussion. Regretfully, that was the reason I wasn't chosen. It was during that period of extreme sadness that I realised how evident your skills are and how you present them. I'm the type of person who is constantly busy; I didn't have an internship over the summer. During that time I cold-mailed strong connections of mine that I built over the past few years on  LinkedIn and that was the time I got my offer letter in 6 days from a New York-based company.


Question 6: How do you deal with everything or how do you handle everything at once while being a position bearer?

Answer 6: According to me, the significant thing to enjoy and manage everything at once is to enjoy each and everything you are doing. See good in all the things you do, this will eventually make you happy while doing work. While in my 2nd year I was the Vice President of the Department of Statistics, I was also a Joint Secretary at Ramanujan Consulting Group. Not only this, currently I am President of the Statistics Department. Also as I read autobiographies, one of them is Wings of Fire by Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam, where it was inferred that he wasn’t selected for the SSB interview nevertheless he became president and had control of the armed forces. So, this gives us an idea that never stops moving in your life. If one door closes, numerous doors will open for you, we just have to look for them.


Question 7: What are your future goals? 

Answer 7: I am currently just going with the flow. I have not thought and don’t know what the future holds for me but yes as I am preparing for CAT I would like to get into a good IIM for sure. 


Question 8: What advice would you like to give to juniors?

Answer 8: In my perspective, do not ever forget to breathe while working on your laptops. Meeting deadlines are significant but taking out the time for yourself is equally important.


HIGHLIGHTS-

●He takes part in data and statistics competitions with great enthusiasm and apart from that he is also a Top Interpersonal Skills Voice on LinkedIn, 

● He is currently  the President  of the Statistics Department and was Joint Secretary at Ramanujan Consulting Group in 2nd year.

●He is a Research and Analytics Intern at Invest India and has worked at Incisiv and Wakao Foods.

●He has been a guest speaker at very prestigious institutions like Miranda House, Maharaja Surajmal Institute of Technology, SRCC and Hansraj College.

●He mentors and guides students about LinkedIn optimization and has a LinkedIn community of more than 15k.

●He has excelled and participated in numerous competitions across IIMs, IITs, and DU demonstrating creative thinking and strategic planning.



4 views0 comments
bottom of page